Glenluce to Port William. 14 Miles.


Above Stairhaven

Above Stairhaven

This weekend I was joined by my sister Anna who came  down to walk with me for a couple of days.  However today I was walking myself and Anna was going to pick me up after the walk was finished. I parked the van at Glenluce and walked under the underpass on to the minor road towards the little village at Stairhaven. At the far end of Stairhaven the path led steeply up to the cliff top path that led along the cliff top before dropping down to the caravan park at the Cock Inn.  The next section was mainly road walking but the road wasnt too busy and there was an opportunity to follow a rough track alongside the grassy verge.

This area is well known for its association with the early Christian church in Scotland – especially St Ninian. Over the next few days I would visit St Ninian’s Cave, church and other historical evidence of the early Christian involvement in this are around Whithorn and Wigton.

The first church I encountered was the remains of the church at St Finian, an early Celtic missionary from Ireland.  Not much remained – the outline of the walls and that was about it. I plodded on and before long Anna arrived and I arranged to meet her just to the south of Port William where there was a good place to park for the night.

It was great to have Anna down – it makes such a difference to have a bit of company – even if the person you are meeting doesnt arrive till later – its something to look forward to at the end of a walk.

More Photos

Leave a Reply

