Appin to Creggan. 10 Miles.


Castle Stalker

NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

I started off in Appin and headed towards the little Peninsula and the village of Port Appin. The photo above shows the nearby Castle Stalker, a 15th Century Castle belonging to the Campbell clan. Port Appin was a lovely little village which reminded me a little of the place I lived in near Crieff in Perthshire. It was really busy when I visited with cars parked down both sides of the road. At the end of the road there was a seafood restaurant called the peir house which looked very nice but probably cost a fortune to eat in. Since my staple diet these days seemed to be digestive biscuits dipped in yogurt with honey, a little lobster wouldn’t have gone amiss.

I walked along under the cliffs that lay across the water from the island of Lismore and eventually returned to the main road at the Strath of Appin. There was a new cafe that had not long been opened and I stopped and had a coffe and chatted to the women who worked there. Then it was a jump on the bike and a quick cycle back to the van

Leave a Reply

