Fort William to Ballachulish. 12 Miles


Bluebells at Ballachulish

NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

A beautiful sunny Sunday. A great day for a walk from Fort William to Ballachulish. I wanted to walk this section on a Sunday as I knew it would all be on the main road and I thought that the traffic would be less of a problem. As it happens I was doing my special “one foot in the gutter and one foot on the road” walk almost the whole way. It was a bank holiday weekend too – so there were the usual squads of motorbikes, who, like Italian Tourists, always seem to go around in packs of twenty. I wasnt too bovvered however as the weather was fantastic today. I had parked the van in Ballachulish the night before and hitch hiked early in the morning back to Fort William. I got a lift on the Ballachulish bridge after about 5 minutes from a Polish guy who worked at Corpach on one of the Forestry plantations. I had a coffee in Fort William and set off. Once I was at Onich there was a pavement and the walk into Ballachulish was much easier. It was good to see the Pap of Glencoe and the surrounding mountains in the sunshine. Glencoe is such an atmospheric place and can be foreboding when you drive through it. (especially if like me, your surname is Campbell!). But to see it from the Ballachulish bridge was completely different. I took the snap of the bluebells in the field next to the loch – they were just past their best but still stunning nevertheless.

More Photos

Map

Leave a Reply

