Resipole to Laudale House. 14 Miles.


Light shaft at Laudale

NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

The next few days would take me around the big estates that make up the area known as Morvern. I enlisted my daughter Emma’s help this trip as it was another one of those relatively impossible sections to get around just with a pair of legs and a bike. The weather for the four days I was there was absolutely glorious as you can see from the sunset photo I took looking west along Loch Sunart. The sun shone the whole time and there was hardly a cloud in the sky. I even needed to get my sun block out.

We parked the van at a place called Ceol na Mara (which I think might be gaelic for Star of the Sea on the north shore of Loch Sunart. I set off and quickly walked the couple of miles into Strontian where I met Emma for coffee in the local cafe. It is great to have company – even if she isnt walking with me, its great to know that she will be just up the road waiting and we can have a blether and a cup of tea. Also, not having to drive the van everywhere and drop the bike off and cycle back etc is a great bonus.

The walk itself was a straightforward one – at least it took me to the end of Loch Sunart which I seemed to be walking along endlessly. The walk was good though and I saw Emma coming to get me from across the loch when she went through Strontian. The walk ended near the big estate house, Laudale house which was a lovely white house on the shores of the Loch. There was a field full of deer next to the house which I jokingly asked one of the estate workers next day if they were there so the guests could shoot at them from the comfort of their bedroom windows 😉

More Photos

Leave a Reply

