Lochailort to Kinlochmoidart. 13 miles.


NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

The above photo is from Morar because I had left my camera behind in a cafe in Mallaig and I thought it was lost. However it meant that I had no photos for today’s walk. I have missed a section – the road south of Arisaig. For those of you have been to Arisaig, you will know that the road follows a tortuous route through a deep glen with lots of twists and turns. Although it is an “A” listed road, the A830 is, as far as I am aware the only A road in Scotland that is single track with passing places. Anyway, to walk along there would be bad enough but the road was in the process of being upgraded. The total cost of making 16 miles (27km) of the route a two-lane road is £22.8m. Cheap as chips. The consequence of all this is major upheaval. There was blasting going on huge lorries carrying stone – massive cranes building new bridges and counter roads and cones everywhere. Needless to say there was no pavement and I really thought it would be full hardy to try and negotiate such a dangerous environment. So I decided to get the 7.45 am school bus from Kinlochmoidart back to the junction at Lochailort and walk back instead. The walk was good – it was along a main road but there was hardly any traffic about and I didn’t need to keep jumping off the tramac onto the brass verge as I usually have to.

I reached the little village at Glenuig and popped around to the little community centre to have a look. Afterwards I sat in the sun on a mossy rock eating my sandwiches and listened to a woodpecker hammering away in the trees behind me. Little fishing boats were moored in the loch and I really felt relaxed and at peace. I dragged myself away from my idyllic surroundings as I had a longish walk up hill to the Bealach before the road went back downwards to the the lochside.

When I was nearing the end of the walk at Kinlochmoidart, just to the South of the village you can still see the ‘Seven Men of Moidart’ – a row of beech trees which were planted to commemorate the men who accompanied Bonnie Prince Charlie when he disembarked from France. Although some of the trees had blown down recent storms. I was tired when I eventually reached the van which was parked off the road next to a nature walk beside the little church. I had a doze and then headed back to Mallaig to get my camera.

Map

Leave a Reply

