Mallaig to Arisaig. 10 Miles.


Morar

NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

The forecast for this week was to be overcast, light rain then heavy rain. Par for the course really. Normally the forecasts are pretty accurate now but thankfully this time it was wrong as I had three days of really good weather with clear blue skies and warm sun. What a difference good weather makes. As soon as the sun shines everything seems well with the world. I was looking forward to this walk as it would take me from Mallaig across the silver sands at Moray and then on along the beautiful sandy beaches at Arisaig. I think I love Arisaig so much is a combination of the beautiful sandy beaches and the fact that the views from here are fantastic. I could see away in the distance the snow covered peaks of the Cuillins on Skye and the distinctive shape of An Sgurr on the island Eigg. I read somewhere that the river Morar is one of the shortest in the UK as it only flows from Loch Morar about about a quarter of a mile from the loch into the little estuary that is bounded by the wonderful white sands at Morar Bay. (See the photo above). The walk went well and I turned into back of Keppoch and then followed what is marked as a rough track that takes you into Arisiag village at Gortencullish. Unfortunately the path was just a really muddy cattle trail and I decided to go around the point nearer the coast. That resulted in a bit of a slog for a mile or so across seaweed covered rocks and a little scramble back up over some slabs to get back on the trail.

Arisaig is a lovely little place with a great pub that sells delicious sea food and a posher restaurant. Apart from a Spar grocers and a cafe thats about it. The by-pass road has obviously removed a lot of traffic that had to go through the village but what I dont understand is that presumably the village still relies on through trade to keep the local economy going. And yet it was difficult to find a place to park as all the places were taken. Given that this wasnt the height of the summer season, I wonder how many people just pass through the village and on up to Mallaig for want of a place to stop.

Thats my moan for the day – just seems daft not to.

Map

More Photos

3 Responses to Mallaig to Arisaig. 10 Miles.

  1. Great work buddy, continue the good work.

  2. lorna says:

    Great post. I am planning a trip to this area at Easter and your blogs have helped me decide where to go as I have never been to this part of Scotland. Thanks

  3. tricia600 says:

    I go to Traigh every year. That is between Arisaig and Morar. It is so peaceful and never more than half a dozen on the beach high season!

Leave a Reply

