Plockton to Auchtertyre. 11 Miles


Badicaul

Badicaul and the Cuillins

NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

The first walk of 2008. Here I am again in Plockton – a lovely little highland village. Ive visited this place few times in the past and it is a lovely place. The photo above shows another village further down the road, Badicaul, with the Cuillin mountain range on the Isle of Skye in the background. The high school for the area is in Plockton and at 8.30 when I was setting off there were buses arriving from all over the place delivering kids to school.

The walk into Kyle of Lochalsh was a pleasant one and soon I could see the Skye bridge away in the distance. The bridge replaced the ferry service a few years back and so no more speed bonnie boat – over the sea to Skye. As a consequence Kyle of Lochalsh is no longer a stopping point for traffic on the way to Skye. I wonder how much local economies like that suffer whenever bridges and by-passes are built?

I stopped off for a coffee in Kyle then headed out towards Balmacara where I had left my bike the previous night. Having had it attached over the winter to the back of the van it was exceedingly rusty and I had to try and free up the individual chain links just to get going.

I pushed the bike up the steep hill that heads inland back over towards Plockton from Balmacar. I remembered being here another time tring to cycle up this hill. Jamie was with me then and as I recall we both ended up pushing our bikes up the hill then too. After a winter of doing very little walking – my level of fitness is not something to write home about.

More Photos

Leave a Reply

