Lochcarron to Stromeferry. 12 Miles


Lochcarron

NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

Another rainy day but since this was the last walk of 2007 I didn’t mind so much. The route today was a simple walk around Loch Carron itself. Lochcarron, the village, stretches along the north side of the loch. These damned sea lochs are going to haunt me because the distance between Stromferry and the otherside of the loch is less than a third of a mile and yet to go all the way around is 12 miles. It does get me thinking that a bridge here might help the planet! Even the sign for Stromeferry says (no ferry) after it.
The walk turned out to be a hard one as the south side of the loch had one or two steep hills that required me to get the head down which got the heart racing. I also had the problem of cycling back up those hills. Ive realised that my age is catching up with me – 12 miles walking and 12 miles cycle back is enough for me after 4 days walking. Ive had problems with my back and knees for years and I think Im just wearing out! Next year Ive set myself a target of 500 miles, but I will have to try and use public transport more or even trust my luck at hitch hiking back to the start point.
More Photos
Map
Comments are closed.

