Big Sand to Kerrysdale. 7 Miles.


NEW : See my campaign to establish a National Coastal Path here

Absolutely crap weather again as you can see from the photo above. That was when the sun tried to make its mark – but failed miserably. Consequently I shirked the opportunity to do a biggish walk and went for a stroll through the rain instead. Shortly after I set off I met an old couple walking the other way towards me. She was 80 and he was about the same age. They were both from Clydebank near Glasgow and were staying at the nearby youth hostel. She told me that the previous year she got half way up Ben Nevis because she had never climbed a mountain before and someone from her local church had dared her to have a go. I felt immensely proud of this woman, who at 80 was still coming out in the rain with her old man, and making the most of what was left of her life. I left the two of them with their cheap anoraks turned up against the wind and rain and hoped that I would still be as positive of life if I have the good fortune to live that long.

More Photos

Leave a Reply

