Auckengill to John O’ Groats. 8 Miles


Inverness to John O' Groats - Scottish Coast Guide for walkers

Inverness to John O' Groats - Scottish Coast Guide for walkers

This was going to be my last walk of 2006 and one that I hadnt ever presumed that I would make when I started this project at the beginning of 2005. This was to be a short walk from Auckengill to John O’ Groats. John O’ Groats is the UK’s most northerly town and therefore was a good place to finish for the year and also was a bit of a milestone as it meant I had finished walking the east coast of Scotland, a journey of 640 miles or so. As you can imagine, it was a day of reminiscences. I thought about all the miles walked through all sorts of weathers, including some really bad days with constant rain, but also blue skies and warm sunshine. The incredible beauty of Scotland seen so far, with good companions supporting me along the way. I also remembered the sore legs, and aching muscles and those parts of Scotland where the scenery wasnt quite as inspiring. I also remembered the changing seasons and the associated changing colours of the flora. The stark yellows of the broom and gorse, with the evocative smell of coconut from the flowers. The beautiful bluebell woods, and the purples of the thistles heathers, and rosebay willow herb.

When I reached John O Groats I quietly reflected on the journey and watched as others celebrated their own individual ends of their journeys. The cyclists, walkers and motorbikers who had finished their own hard journeys from Landsend. Of course, my journey was only just beginning; I had thought of the west coast and all the problems associated with its remoteness and difficult terrain. But I also looked forward to the spectacular beauty of its mountains, beaches and beautiful sunsets. But for now, it was time to head south for the winter and forget about the walk for a while, until next Spring.

See Map of this section and more photos.

 

One Response to Auckengill to John O’ Groats. 8 Miles

  1. Helen Dalgleish says:

    My partner and I are planning to visit JOG for the first time later this year. It is my fifth trip to Scotland but first to JOG. My partner has not visited Scotland before and his family emanates from Caithness. Never too late to make the trip!

    Thank you for taking the time to create such a wonderful collection of photos from the area. It has certainly wet our appetite to visit the area. Our plans include a one-day excursion to the Orkneys from JOG (weather permitting in late September).

    regards
    Helen, Perth – Western Australia

Leave a Reply

